Maps' Incognito mode won't link your activity with Google account
First announced at I/O 2019, the Incognito mode for Maps lets you use navigation services privately.
Once you turn it on, anything done inside Maps, be it looking up for a restaurant/cafe or directions to that place, will not be saved to your Google account or used for offering personalized recommendations/notifications, like how it happens normally.
Your personal data will not be used for customizing Maps
Along with keeping your navigational searches under the radar, Google Maps' Incognito mode will stay away from using your personal data, already stored in your Google account, for customizing Maps' results.
Notably, the internet giant also says that your activity won't be used to update your Location History, which creates a location timeline on the basis of where you go with your phone.
While this will make looking up for places and navigating to them private, it is important to note that the feature doesn't rule out all forms of tracking.
In a support document confirming the roll-out of the feature, Google has clearly noted that using this feature doesn't affect how your activity is used/saved by "internet providers, other apps, voice search, and other Google services."