Karnataka, originally known as the State of Mysore was formed in 1956 under the States Reorganisation Act, and was renamed to Karnataka in the year 1973. Located in south western India, Karnataka is the eight most populous state in the country with a total of 30 districts. Bangalore, the capital city is often dubbed as the Silicon Valley of India.