Team India have announced a 15-man squad for the three-match T20I series against South Africa, starting September 28. Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, and Indore will host the fixtures respectively.


R Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), V Kohli, S Yadav, D Hooda, R Pant (wicket-keeper), D Karthik (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Y Chahal, A Patel, Arshdeep Singh, M Shami, H Patel, D Chahar, J Bumrah.

H2H record

India own an 11-8 win-loss record in T20Is against the Proteas. The Men in Blue are yet to win a series versus SA at home. The hosts drew the five-match series in June earlier this year (2-2).

Shami returns

Seamer Mohammed Shami, who last played a T20I during the 2021 T20 World Cup, has made the cut for the SA series too, besides featuring in the squad for the Australia T20Is a week prior.

Top performers vs SA

Skipper Rohit Sharma has amassed 362 T20I runs versus SA at 32.90 (100s:1, 50s; 2). Seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar remains the highest wicket-taker in India-SA encounters (14 scalps at 17.00).