2022 CWG

The 2022 Commonwealth Games (CWG) are set to begin on July 28 this year. Birmingham will host the multi-sport event for members of the Commonwealth.


The Commonwealth Games is an international
multi-sport event that involves athletes from
the Commonwealth of Nations. Melville Marks
Robinson termed it the British Empire Games.


Of the 72 nations (current number of CWG
participating teams), only six have taken
part in all the editions, dating back to 1930.


Australia leads the tally of CWG medals,
having won 932 gold, 775 silver, and 709
bronze medals (2,416 in total). India occupies
the fourth spot in terms of gold medals (181).


In the second CWG edition (1934) held in England, Rashid Anwar secured India's first medal, a bronze in wrestling (welterweight).

Gold medal

In the 1958 Commonwealth Games, the
legendary Milkha Singh secured the gold
medal in 400m. He became the first Indian
to secure gold at the Games.


International cricket enters the CWG for
the first time. Edgbaston in Birmingham will
play host to the eight-team women's T20
tournament, starting July 29.