Four IPL franchises to own teams in MLC

By Gaurav Tripathi


Owning US cricket teams

Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, and Delhi Capitals have bought stakes in USA's Major League Cricket teams. They will each own a team in the new T20 franchise league starting in July 2023.


IPL franchises investing

KKR joins Major League Cricket, owning the Los Angeles franchise, with four out of six teams owned by IPL franchises. Capitals partner with Microsoft CEO whereas CSK joins hands with a local investor.


DC joins Seattle Orcas

DC co-owner GMR Sports reportedly partners with Satya Nadella as the DC-owned franchise will be called Seattle Orcas. The other investors include Madrona Ventures and GreatPoint Ventures.


Franchises in two cities

MLC has franchises in Washington DC and San Francisco, owned by Sanjay Govil and Anand Rajaraman/Venky Harinarayan respectively. MI and KKR run their franchises independently.


The season will begin in Texas

MLC's inaugural season will be held in Grand Prairie, Texas, from July 13 to July 30. Squad size is 15-18 players with a maximum of nine overseas players and six US players in the starting lineup.

For more Sports news click on the link below