Kane Williamson's bowling action cleared by ICC: Details hereLast updated on Nov 01, 2019, 03:52 pm
New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson's bowling action has been cleared by the International Cricket Council (ICC).
According to a release by the ICC on Friday, Williamson, who is an off-spinner, was reported in August for a suspect action.
However, following a bowling assessment test, his action was found to be legal and he can continue to bowl in international cricket.
Here are further details.
Williamson's elbow extension under ICC's permitted limit
After being reported in August, Williamson underwent the mandatory bowling assessment test in Loughborough on October 11. During the analysis, it was found that his elbow extension amount falls within the permitted limit, declared by the ICC, which is the 15-degree level of tolerance.
Williamson was reported in August during Sri Lanka Tests
It was in August during a Test series in Sri Lanka, when Williamson was reported to have a suspect action.
During a Test, he had bowled three overs and had conceded nine runs without claiming a wicket.
Consequently, after being reported, he did not bowl any further in the series.
Williamson was also reported for suspect action in 2014
Interestingly, this was not the first time Williamson was summoned for suspect action, as it was in 2014 when he was first reported for the same.
Following an assessment, his action was reported to be illegal, while he had to undergo a bowling action change, prior to being reinstated to bowl in international cricket.
What is suspect action and its rules?
The suspect action is a term given to a possible illegal bowling action of the bowler.
Upon being reported, the bowler has to undergo a bowling assessment test.
Under trained experts and after the scientific procedure, it is determined if the 'player's elbow extends by an amount of more than 15 degrees between their arm reaching the horizontal and the ball being released.'
What happens when someone has illegal bowling action?
Upon analysis, if it is found that the bowler is using an illegal action, he is banned from bowling in international cricket by the ICC.
Consequently, the bowler would be required to mend, improve or use a different bowling action to continue bowling.
However, he would need to undergo a fresh test to be cleared in order to resume bowling in international cricket.
Williamson currently nursing hip injury
While Williamson might rejoice his return to bowling in international cricket, he would have to wait for a while as he is currently nursing a hip injury.
As a result, he is unable to participate in the ongoing five-match T20I series against England, where England won the opening game.
However, he might be cleared to return for the two-Test series, which starts November 21.