Mexican Open: Alexander Zverev thrown out for attacking umpire's chair
2020 Tokyo Olympics gold medalist Alexander Zverev has been thrown out of the ongoing Mexican Open for 'unsportsmanlike conduct'. Zverev was seen smashing his racquet on the umpire's chair several times at the end of his doubles match. The world number three was also heard foul-mouthing the official, according to several reports. The development was confirmed on Wednesday by ATP. Here's more.
Why does this story matter?
Zverev's cranky attitude during the match could be since he played his singles game till 5 AM in the same morning. However, it should not be an excuse for his abusive behavior. And, now umpire Alessandro Germani and all the other officials of the match will also hope that ATP sees this event in a similar light and take an action against Zverev.
ATP confirms Zverev's exit
"Due to unsportsmanlike conduct at the conclusion of his doubles match on Tuesday night, Alexander Zverev has been withdrawn from the tournament in Acapulco," ATP wrote on Twitter. Zverev lost his cool after he and his Brazilian partner Marcelo Melo were beaten in the round of 16 in Acapulco 6-2, 4-6, 10-6 by Britain and Finnish duo of Lloyd Glasspool and Harri Heliovaara.
What is next for Zverev?
Following Zverev's expulsion, his R16 singles match against Peter Gojowczyk has been canceled. Gojowczyk has now directly progressed to the next round. Zverev and Melo's second R16 clash against the Spanish duo Pablo Carreño Busta and Carlos Alcaraz Garfia has also been canceled. Zverev's prize money from the Mexican Open can be withheld. Other than that, he can also be given a hefty fine.
Previous such incidents in tennis
Novak Djokovic was defaulted from the 2020 US Open and handed a $10,000 fine for hitting a line judge. Goran Ivanisevic was forced to retire after smashing all his racquets during the 2000 Samsung Open. Denis Shapovalov was defaulted from the 2017 Davis Cup after hitting an umpire. Serena Williams was fined $10,500 for threatening a lineswoman during her 2009 US Open semi-final loss.
Pliskova was fined for smashing the umpire's chair
In 2018, Karolina Pliskova received a four-figure fine for smashing the umpire's chair following her second-round defeat to Maria Sakkari at Rome. Pliskova's spokesperson, Michal Hrdlicka of the Czech tennis federation, said Pliskova would donate the same amount to a charitable effort as well.Share this timeline