Chennai Super Kings, IPL 2021: Fixtures, squad and more!

IPL 2020: How did CSK fare?

Chennai Super Kings had a forgettable IPL season last year. For the first time in 13 seasons, the Yellow Army failed to qualify for the playoffs. Skipper MS Dhoni remained under the scanner for his peculiar decisions on the field, and maintaining a slow scoring-rate. They thoroughly missed the presence of Suresh Raina in the batting line-up. At the end, the CSK finished at number seven with six wins and eight defeats.

Squad: Players retained and bought

Retained: Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, N. Jagadeesan (wk), Robin Uthappa, MS Dhoni (c and wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, R. Sai Kishore, Mitchell Santner, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, Josh Hazlewood, KM Asif.

Players bought: Moeen Ali, K Gowtham, Cheteshwar Pujara, M Harisankar Reddy, K. Bhagath Varma, C Hari Nishanth.

How do we rate them?

Over the past few years, the CSK have become a spin-heavy side. At the IPL 2021 Auction, the Yellow Army further bolstered their spin attack by acquiring spin-bowling all-rounders Moeen Ali and K Gowtham. However, it will be interesting to see how the spin attack operates this time, considering the new rule of playing at neutral venues. With Raina and Pujara, the batting has also been solidified.

IPL 2021: Fixtures (CSK)

April 10CSK vs DCMumbai7:30 PM
April 16PK vs CSKMumbai7:30 PM
April 19CSK vs RRMumbai7:30 PM
April 21KKR vs CSKMumbai7:30 PM
April 25CSK vs RCBMumbai3:30 PM
April 28CSK vs SRHDelhi7:30 PM
May 1MI vs CSKDelhi7:30 PM
May 5RR vs CSKDelhi7:30 PM
May 7SRH vs CSKDelhi7:30 PM
May 9CSK vs PKBangalore3:30 PM
May 12CSK vs KKRBangalore7:30 PM
May 16CSK vs MIBangalore7:30 PM
May 21DC vs CSKKolkata7:30 PM
May 23RCB vs CSKKolkata7:30 PM