Rajasthan Royals, IPL 2021: Fixtures, squad and more!

IPL 2020: How did RR fare?

Despite starting the tournament with back-to-back victories, the Rajasthan Royals failed to carry the momentum. Former skipper Steve Smith faced backlash for his poor form and approach. The RR had plenty of match-winners, however, they couldn’t capitalize as a unit. As a result, the RR finished last on the points table, winning only six out of 14 encounters.

Squad: Players retained and bought

Retained: Sanju Samson (c & wk), Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Stokes, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Manan Vohra, Anuj Rawat, Riyan Parag, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Shreyas Gopal, Mayank Markande, Jofra Archer, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi.

Players bought: Shivam Dube, Chris Morris, Mustafizur Rahman, Chetan Sakariya, KC Cariappa, Liam Livingstone, Kuldip Yadav, Akash Singh.

How do we rate them?

After parting ways with Smith, Rajasthan Royals handed the captaincy role to Sanju Samson. The flamboyant batsman along with the newly-appointed Director of Cricket, Kumar Sangakkara, is expected to make a turnaround for them. At the 2021 Auction, they made the most expensive signing of the IPL history by acquiring Chris Morris (Rs. 16.25 crore). The inclusion of Indian all-rounder Shivam Dube (Rs. 4.40 crore) also bolsters the bench strength.

IPL 2021: Fixtures (RR)

April 12RR vs PKMumbai7:30 PM
April 15RR vs DCMumbai7:30 PM
April 19CSK vs RRMumbai7:30 PM
April 22RCB vs RRMumbai7:30 PM
April 24RR vs KKRMumbai7:30 PM
April 29MI vs RR
Delhi3:30 PM
May 2RR vs SRHDelhi3:30 PM
May 5RR vs CSK
Delhi7:30 PM
May 8RR vs MI
Delhi7:30 PM
May 11DC vs RRKolkata7:30 PM
May 13SRH vs RRKolkata7:30 PM
May 16RR vs RCBKolkata3:30 PM
May 18KKR vs RRBangalore7:30 PM
May 22PK vs RRBangalore7:30 PM