Articles about Harivansh Narayan Singh

Two-time Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, Harivansh Narayan Singh, is no stranger to ruckus and chaos. As a journalist turned politician, he was well-versed in the chaotic ways of politics even before he stepped into it. Born on June 30, 1956, in Ballia, Uttar Pradesh, Singh was a model student during his time at school. He did his master’s in economics from Banaras Hindu University. He holds a diploma in journalism from the same university as well. Singh began his career with the ‘Times of India.’ He also worked with ‘Dharmyug Magazine.’ As a journalist, he is known for injecting new life into once almost dead Hindi magazine ‘Prabhat Khabar. ’ Singh had his first taste of politics when he was appointed as the additional media advisor of then Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar. In 2014, he joined Janata Dal (United) and was elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Bihar. He became the Deputy Chairman of the Upper House for the first time in 2018 and hence became the third non-Congress member to hold the position. When he returned to the Rajya Sabha in 2020, he was re-elected as the Deputy Chairman for the second time.

27 Sep 2020

Venkaiah Naidu
What happened inside Rajya Sabha last Sunday? Footage reveals details

The conduct of the government, opposition, and Deputy Chairman Harivansh Singh inside the Rajya Sabha last Sunday garnered much attention.

23 Sep 2020

Lok Sabha
Rajya Sabha passes 3 labor code bills amid Opposition boycott

The Rajya Sabha on Wednesday passed three of the four labor code bills, even as the Opposition continued its boycott of the Parliament.

22 Sep 2020

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)
Opposition boycotts Lok Sabha over suspended MPs, farm bills

The Opposition has boycotted the Parliament in protest of the farm bills. They on Tuesday staged a walkout of the Lok Sabha after a similar move in the Rajya Sabha.

22 Sep 2020

Shashi Tharoor
Suspended MPs protest overnight, Harivansh offers tea, PM lauds gesture

Eight members of the Rajya Sabha, who were suspended by Chairman Venkaiah Naidu on Monday over the ruckus a day earlier, spent the night at the Parliament complex, continuing their protest over the passage of farm Bills.

21 Sep 2020

Narendra Modi
Rajya Sabha ruckus continues, suspended MPs stage 'dharna'

After a stormy session yesterday, the Rajya Sabha witnessed pandemonium again today after eight MPs, who were suspended for their unruly behavior, refused to leave the House.

21 Sep 2020

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)
Eight Rajya Sabha MPs suspended; resolution against Deputy Chairman junked

After trying to stall the passage of two out of the three Agriculture Bills in the Rajya Sabha on Sunday, the opposition moved an unprecedented resolution, seeking the removal of Deputy Chairman Harivansh Singh.

23 Jul 2019

Modi didn't ask Trump for mediation, says EAM in Parliament

US President Donald Trump's statement on Kashmir dispute created a furor in India, prompting Minister of External Affairs S Jaishankar to clarify Centre's stand in the Parliament.

10 Dec 2018

More engaging stories needed to draw attention of children: Bond

Master storyteller Ruskin Bond has said that more engaging stories are needed to draw the undivided attention of children from page one itself.

13 Aug 2018

Opposition parties that helped Harivansh Singh win are hypocrites: Congress

The Congress yesterday said the political parties that broke the opposition ranks to facilitate the victory of the NDA nominee in the election for the post of Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman had exposed their hypocrisy.

10 Aug 2018

Shashi Tharoor
Modi's remark on Congress's Hariprasad deleted by Rajya Sabha chairman

In an embarrassment to the ruling NDA, Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu on Friday expunged (deleted from records) PM Modi's remarks which he made on Thursday in the Upper House.

09 Aug 2018

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)
NDA candidate Harivansh wins Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman elections

NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh has won the elections of Rajya Sabha deputy chairman and defeated opponent BK Hariprasad.