Articles about Jitan Ram Manjhi

Born to agricultural laborers in 1944 in Gaya, Bihar, Jitan Ram Manjhi is a former Chief Minister of Bihar. As of 2021, he is the President of the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM), which he founded in 2015. Manjhi began his political career in 1980 when he won a seat in the Legislative Assembly from Fatehpur in the Gaya district. He soon became a crucial member of Chief Minister Chandrashekhar Singh's government. He won again from the same constituency in 1985 but failed to get re-elected in 1990. After the 1990 election loss, he quit Congress and joined the Janata Dal. In 1996, when the Janata Dal split and Lalu Prasad Yadav founded Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Manjhi chose to join the latter but quit the part in 2004. He served as the Minister for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes Welfare of Bihar, he was appointed the Chief Minister by JD(U) chief and then CM Nitish Kumar. However, Kumar changed his mind and, in nine months, the party asked him to step down as the Chief Minister in 2015. But on Manjhi's refusal, he was ousted from the JD(U); so he went on to form his own party, the HAM, the same year and won one seat in the 2015 election.

16 Aug 2022

'Mahagathbandhan 2.0' cabinet: RJD gets 16 posts, JD(U) takes 11

A week after churning up a political storm in Bihar, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar expanded his cabinet to induct 31 new ministers on Tuesday.

16 Aug 2022

Rashtriya Janata Dal
Bihar: 31 ministers to take oath today in cabinet expansion

Bihar Chief Minister (CM) Nitish Kumar will reportedly expand his current two-member cabinet on Tuesday, with alliance partner Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) receiving most seats.

06 Oct 2020

Bihar elections: JD(U)-BJP reach 50:50 seat-sharing deal; NDA snubs Paswan

The ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Bihar on Tuesday announced the seat-sharing formula of its constituent parties for the upcoming Bihar Assembly elections.

04 Oct 2020

BJP-JD(U) reach 50:50 seat-sharing deal in Bihar, say reports

Ahead of the Bihar Assembly elections later this month, the Bharatiya Janata Party and Janata Dal (United) have come up with a 50:50 seat-sharing deal, reports said on Sunday.

23 Jun 2020

Bihar: Five MLCs from Lalu's party join rival Nitish's JD(U)

In what brings bad news for Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), five MLCs of the party resigned to join JD(U), the party of rival Nitish Kumar, reports said on Tuesday. This development comes just days before the Bihar Legislative Council polls, which are scheduled for July 6.

20 Mar 2019

West Bengal
Lok Sabha elections: Congress fighting against time to stitch alliances

With general elections starting in less than a month, Congress has still not announced alliances in Bihar and J&K, hinting that the party is in soup.

02 Mar 2018

Split wide open in Bihar Congress: Infighting escalates

After former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi joined the Mahagathbandhan, four Congress members of legislative council (MLCs) joined the ruling JD(U).

27 Nov 2017

After Centre downgrades Lalu's security, son threatens to skin Modi

Jumping into a controversy again due to his sensational remark, RJD chief Lalu Yadav's elder son Tej Pratap said he will skin PM Narendra Modi if any harm is done to his father.

28 Jul 2017

Nitish Kumar wins the floor test by 131 votes

Nitish Kumar backed by BJP has claimed the support of 131 out of 243 members to win the floor test in the Bihar Assembly.