Ajay Rai: News

Ajay Rai is an Indian politician from Uttar Pradesh who has worked with various political parties over the years. In 1996, he began his political career with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), later joined the Samajwadi Party (SP), and moved to the Indian National Congress (INC) in 2012. Rai is a five-time MLA of the Uttar Pradesh State Assembly from 1996 to 2017, four times from the Kolasla constituency (now dissolved) and later in 2012, from the Pindra constituency (created in 2008). A BJP MLA from 1996 to 2007, Rai resigned from the party in 2009 to join the SP for contesting the Lok Sabha Elections that year, which he lost from Varanasi to BJP's Murli Manohar Joshi. However, he later won the Kolasla Assembly by-poll and served as an independent MLA between 2009 and 2012 before joining the INC to contest the 2012 Assembly polls. He won again from Pindra and remained in office till 2017 when he lost his seat to BJP's Avadhesh Singh. Rai was fielded again from Varanasi in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha Elections against BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, suffering crushing defeats both times.

20 Dec 2022

Smriti Irani

'Not unparliamentary': Congress's Ajay Rai defends 'latka-jhatka' jibe at Irani

Congress leader Ajay Rai on Tuesday defended his "latka-jhatka" comment against Union minister and Amethi MP Smriti Irani, claiming the words are not "unparliamentary" but "colloquial language."

07 Sep 2020

Shashi Tharoor

Letter writers dropped from Congress' A-teams formed for UP polls

Congress, eyeing a resurrection in politics, on Sunday evening announced seven committees for Uttar Pradesh polls, which are still two years away. Unsurprisingly, it handed over a major snub to notable leaders like Jitin Prasada and Raj Babbar, who had signed the letter to party President Sonia Gandhi demanding the party's re-haul.

Narendra Modi's election from Varanasi challenged, Allahabad HC issues notice

On Friday, the Allahabad High Court issued a notice to Prime Minister Narendra Modi in connection to a plea challenging his election from Varanasi Lok Sabha seat.

19 May 2019

West Bengal

In seventh phase of elections, PM Modi tests his fate

The final phase of 2019 general elections started on Sunday. Voters in 59 Lok Sabha constituencies spread across eight states namely Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, and Chandigarh, got inked.

29 Apr 2019

Narendra Modi

SP replaces Varanasi candidate, fields sacked-soldier Tej Bahadur against Modi

In what seems like a bid to make the battle for Varanasi in elections more interesting, Samajwadi Party replaced its candidate with Tej Bahadur Yadav, the sacked BSF jawan who had complained about poor food.

25 Apr 2019

Narendra Modi

Congress wasted its 'brahmastra' Priyanka. Has it accepted defeat already?

On Thursday, Congress announced its candidate for Varanasi Lok Sabha seat, from where Prime Minister Narendra Modi is seeking a second term.

25 Apr 2019

Narendra Modi

No Priyanka v/s Modi in Varanasi, Congress fields Ajay Rai

Ending weeks of speculations, Congress didn't field Priyanka Gandhi Vadra from Varanasi and gave a ticket to Ajay Rai instead.

13 Apr 2019

Narendra Modi

#LokSabhaElections: These candidates will contest against PM Modi in Varanasi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is seeking a re-election from Varanasi of Uttar Pradesh and the seat will naturally be closely watched.

29 Mar 2019

Narendra Modi

Should I contest from Varanasi, asks Priyanka Gandhi

On Thursday, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra was suggested by party workers in Raebareli to contest from the constituency, and the general secretary of Congress had a surprising answer.

12 Mar 2019


Puri or Varanasi: Where will PM Modi contest elections from?

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will contest from Uttar Pradesh's Varanasi, just like the last Lok Sabha elections, NDTV reports.

26 Sep 2017

Narendra Modi

BHU vice-chancellor: 'Can't run university if listen to every girl'

BHU Vice-Chancellor Girish Chandra Tripathi said the molestation incident that led to student protests and a lathi charge was "created by outsiders" with "vested interests."

25 Sep 2017

Narendra Modi

BHU violence: Modi and Shah discuss lathi-charge incident with Yogi

On September 25, during the BJP's National Executive meet's sidelines, PM Modi and Amit Shah discussed the police lathi-charge incident in Varanasi's Banaras Hindu University (BHU) with UP CM Yogi Adityanath.