Lok Janshakti Party: News

15 Nov 2022


No alliance with Chirag Paswan until he apologizes: Pashupati Paras

Rashtriya Lok Janshakti Party (RLJP) president and Union minister, Pashupati Paras, has dismissed reports of his party joining hands with his estranged nephew Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas).

15 Jun 2021


Day after coup, Chirag Paswan removed as LJP chief

Chirag Paswan was on Tuesday removed as the chief of the Lok Janshakti Party, a party founded by his father Ram Vilas Paswan.

14 Jun 2021


5 LJP MPs rally against Chirag Paswan, support uncle Pashupati

Five of the six MPs from the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) have joined hands against their leader Chirag Paswan - leaving him isolated and marking a big development in Bihar's politics.

28 Dec 2020


Miffed with BJP, Nitish Kumar says 'didn't want CM post'

Less than two months after he was sworn-in as Chief Minister of Bihar for a fourth straight term, Nitish Kumar on Sunday said he was never greedy for the chair and that ally Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is free to make its own CM.

07 Nov 2020


Bihar exit polls predict victory for Tejashwi Yadav-led Grand Alliance

The voting for the third and final phase of Bihar Assembly Election 2020 has ended. The exit polls for the election have predicted a win for the Opposition-led Grand Alliance over the ruling National Democratic Alliance.

07 Nov 2020


Bihar polls: Final phase begins, PM says "set new record"

The third and final phase of Bihar polls began on Saturday, with voters queuing up at 78 of the total 243 Assembly seats to choose the next Chief Minister.

05 Nov 2020


Bihar: Nitish Kumar says 2020 polls are his 'last election'

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Thursday declared that the 2020 state Assembly elections will be his last.

29 Oct 2020


Ameesha says she feared for life during Bihar poll campaign

Actor Ameesha Patel has said that she feared for her life while campaigning for the Lok Janshakti Party's (LJP) candidate Prakash Chandra for the Bihar elections.

27 Oct 2020


Munger: Police clashes with Durga worshippers; 1 killed, many injured

A man was killed while several others were injured amid clashes during the immersion of Goddess Durga's idol in Bihar's Munger on Monday.

08 Oct 2020


Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan dies at 74

In an unfortunate development, Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan has passed away, his son Chirag Paswan confirmed on Thursday evening. He was 74 years old.

06 Oct 2020


Bihar elections: JD(U)-BJP reach 50:50 seat-sharing deal; NDA snubs Paswan

The ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Bihar on Tuesday announced the seat-sharing formula of its constituent parties for the upcoming Bihar Assembly elections.

04 Oct 2020


BJP-JD(U) reach 50:50 seat-sharing deal in Bihar, say reports

Ahead of the Bihar Assembly elections later this month, the Bharatiya Janata Party and Janata Dal (United) have come up with a 50:50 seat-sharing deal, reports said on Sunday.

13 Sep 2020


Bihar: Modi praises Nitish Kumar's governance; says it must continue

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday praised Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar for "good governance" in the state.

23 Aug 2020


BJP, JD(U), LJP to fight Bihar polls together: JP Nadda

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Jagat Prakash Nadda on Sunday said the saffron party, the Janata Dal (United), and the Lok Janshakti Party, will fight the upcoming Bihar Assembly polls together.

19 Aug 2020


Watered-down rallies, restrictions in booths: EC plans polls in pandemic

Faced with an immense challenge to conduct polls, particularly Bihar Assembly elections, as coronavirus cases spike in the country, the Election Commission is finalizing the fine print while keeping social distancing norms in mind.

17 Aug 2020

Lalu Prasad Yadav

Nitish Kumar's JD(U) expels cabinet minister, he quickly joins RJD

Ahead of high-stake Bihar Assembly polls, the ruling JD(U) expelled State Industries Minister Shyam Rajak for "anti-party" activities, allowing him to return to his home party, RJD.

20 Jan 2020


Akalis to not contest Delhi polls after differences with BJP

The Shiromani Akali Dal on Monday announced its withdrawal from the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections.

23 Dec 2018


#RoadTo2019: Bihar seat-sharing done, BJP-JD(U) to contest on 17 seats

In an apparent show of strength, BJP President Amit Shah, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, and Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan announced the seat sharing agreement for Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Sunday.

09 Nov 2018


LJP, RLSP demand same number of seats as in 2014-polls

Two NDA constituents, LJP and RLSP, have made it clear that the number of seats they wanted to contest for the next Lok Sabha election was the same as that of 2014.

11 Sep 2018


Ram Vilas Paswan seeks 15% reservation for upper caste

Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan, in an interview to Hindustan Times, demanded that the upper caste should get 15 per cent reservation.

05 Aug 2018


NDA allies in Bihar will cease to be politically-relevant: Congress

Parties like Nitish Kumar's JD(U) and Ram Vilas Paswan's LJP will cease to be politically relevant in Bihar if they stay in alliance with BJP, Congress leader in-charge of the state Shaktisinh Gohil said.

SC okays reservation in promotions in government jobs, for now

The SC today permitted the Center to continue with reservation for SC/ST employees in promotions for now, and agreed to hear a petition against quashing of the practice.

03 Jun 2018


Paswan meets Shah; seeks ordinance on Dalit-crimes, special-status for Bihar

Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan today met BJP President Amit Shah, seeking an ordinance to restore the original provisions of SC/ST (Prevention of Atrocities) Act and called for ensuring reservation in promotion for the community.

04 Apr 2018


Bharat Bandh: Are political parties in overdrive about Dalit-votes?

On Monday, Dalits called a nationwide bandh protesting Supreme Court's March 20 judgment "diluting" the SC/ST (Prevention of Atrocities) Act.

21 Apr 2017


MCD elections: C-voter Survey spells trouble for AAP, Congress

The ABP-C Voter survey has revealed that the BJP is set to win all three wings in the MCD elections in Delhi.